The Old Belvedere Cricket Club was founded in 1950 and was promoted to the Leinster Senior League in 1957. Its members were initially drawn from past pupils of Belvedere College. Cricket had been played in the school as far back as the early 1900’s but past pupils had generally joined established clubs like Phoenix or Clontarf. Phoenix CC had an especially close connection with the school and for a period school matches were played in the Phoenix Park. The Old Belvedere club was opened to non-Belvederians in the late 1970’s. All matches were played on the Belvedere College grounds on the Navan Road in Dublin. The ground was known as the Cabra Oval and was unique in its ability to host two simultaneous cricket matches, such was the size of the playing area.

Belvedere won the Leinster Senior Cup on four occasions (1964, 1965, 1966 and 1970). The club won the Leinster Senior League on two occasions (1974 and 1976).

The founding father of the club and its first president was Dave Moran. The success of the club was greatly enhanced by the constant supply of talented players from the College. This was due in large measure to the efforts of Fr Ger Brangan S.J. who was sports master in the school during the 1950’s and 1960’s. He succeeded in attracting top class coaches to the school. Amongst the famous test players who coached at the nets in Jones’s Road were A E KnightFrank Worrell, Charlie Hallows, Cec Pepper and Victor Cannings. In later years the coaching duties fell largely on the broad shoulders of Robin Waters.

The club ceased to exist in 2012. A statement was issued explaining the reasons for the closure.

Cricket continues to be played in the College as evidenced here.